lmkaover.blogg.se

Make bootable osx usb on windows
Make bootable osx usb on windows












However, my BIOS will not boot from a USB flash drive formatted with ExFAT.

make bootable osx usb on windows

Some of the solutions to this problem propose using ExFAT instead, as it accepts file sizes above 4GB. The latest Windows 10 install has a file with 5GB, so if you try to copy the install files to a USB stick, it will fail because one file is over 4GB size. The main reason why it is so hard to create a Windows USB stick from a Mac has to do with file size limits on the FAT32 file system(4 GB).

make bootable osx usb on windows

Why is it so hard to create a USB stick to install Windows 10

  • I have even seen articles suggesting to use rsync! Come on, if I want to install windows, I definitely do not want to resort to Rsync.
  • Some convoluted methods that require me to use diskutil either from the command line or from the UI, also no luck.
  • Using software utilities like UNetbootin, highly discouraged by Apple with some scary warnings, from doing so, also didn’t work for me.
  • I was able to create the USB stick but it wouldn’t boot on my new PC. Not only you need to have an old version of Macos X for this to work, but even if you do have one, at least in my case, it didn’t work.
  • I tried to create a USB stick to install Windows using Bootcamp.
  • I tried every different method described on the world wide web and all failed. The only drawback is that it requires some additional disk space in your Mac.īut before we get to the actual solution, let me just give you a quick overview of the different methods I tried before getting to this solution.

    make bootable osx usb on windows

    You have tried every different method imaginable and nothing seems to work.Īfter a lot of trial and error, I have found a straightforward method that works every time. You are here because you want to create a USB stick to install Windows 10 but you only have a Mac at home.














    Make bootable osx usb on windows